Share this page

Board Members

The Mount Hotham Alpine Resort Management Board consists of seven members, appointed on a skills basis. The role of the Board is to manage the operational and business aspects of Mount Hotham.

The inaugural Board officially took over control of the resort as of April 30, 1998. Prior to this all Alpine Resorts were managed collectively under the jurisdiction of The Alpine Resorts Commission.

Board members have a term of up to 3 years and in June 2013, five Board positions were reappointed by the Minister for Environment and Climate Change.

Members of the Board

 Nicole Feeney (Chairperson)

Nicole is the current Chair of the Board.  She has been a member of the Board since April 2007 and was previously its Chair from 2010 to 2013. She is also a member of the Alpine Resorts Co-ordinating Council (ARCC) and was previously a member of the ARCC between 2010 and 2013. Nicole is a commercial disputes and construction lawyer at Lander & Rogers; is a past Chair of the Litigation Lawyers Section of the Law Institute of Victoria (LIV) and represents the LIV on the Supreme Court Rules Committee and the County Court Building Cases Users Group.

Her board experience includes having been a director of UFS Dispensaries Ltd for six years, a not for profit company which owns and operates a number of pharmacies and associated businesses in and around Ballarat in Western Victoria. Nicole is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company of Directors. In 2001 Nicole was introduced to skiing and Mt Hotham. She loved the experience so much she became a member of the Anton Huette lodge in 2005 and later purchased an apartment at Hotham.



 Maxine Morand (Deputy Chair) 

Maxine has been a keen skier and visitor to Mt Hotham with her family for over 30 years. Maxine brings extensive experience in government administration, senior management, stakeholder engagement and public health. She is a former nurse, cancer researcher, Member of the Victorian Parliament and Cabinet Minister, and was Chief Executive of Breast Cancer Network Australia, the largest health consumer organisation in Australia    Maxine is currently Chair of Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, and Professorial fellow in the school of Public Health and Preventative Medicine at Monash University, a board member of Inner East Community Health and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.



 David Anstee

David has been skiing Hotham for over 30 years, and the first time his children tasted snow was on the skier's mountain. Currently serving as the Commercial Director of GreenSync and as a lecturer in post-graduate entrepreneurial studies with Adelaide University, David holds an MBA from London Business School and a bachelor of commerce from Melbourne.

He has a diverse career which includes investment banking, assistant cameraman for National Geographic in the Arctic, innovation manager and entrepreneur. When not skiing, David enjoys rock climbing, diving, farming and flying. David was appointed to the Board on July 7th, 2014.



 Julia Hunter

Julia has broad experience across Sustainability, Environmental Management, Marketing, Stakeholder Engagement and Risk Management. She has recently taken on the role of Head of Sustainability & Community for Aussie Farmers Direct, where she leads sustainability strategy and customer loyalty programs.  Prior to that, Julia held roles as the Global Head of Environmental Sustainability at ANZ Banking Group and the Director of Corporate Responsibility for InterContinental Hotels Group where she played a key role in the implementation of global environmental and community programs including the award winning Green Engage and IHG Academy. She is an outdoor enthusiast and spends her weekends cycling, skiing, hiking and running and is looking forward to spending more time mastering the black runs at Hotham.

Julia is the Executive Officer of the Aussie Farmers Foundation, a Board Member of Bright Sparks Australia (an environmentally focused social enterprise) and secretary of the Melbourne chapter of the Corporate Environmental Managers Group.  Julia has Bachelor’s degrees in Marketing and Management. Julia was appointed to the Board on 1st January 2016.




 Andrew Skewes

Appointed as a new member in January 2016, Andrew has a wide range of professional work experience, including over 12 years as a senior executive in government at the Commonwealth and State levels, a consultant in his own practice and as a lecturer and senior executive in higher education.

A member of the Australian Institute of Company of Directors, Andrew has been a director of companies in the water and information technology sectors, and holds a Bachelor of Science, a Graduate Diploma in Education and Master of Commerce (Economics Hons), all from the University of Melbourne.




  Jo Shannon

Jo has been visiting Mt Hotham and the Victorian Alps for over twenty years as a keen skier and bushwalker. She has a passion for the Australian alpine environment and sharing it with her family and friends.

With over fifteen years experience in public sector financial and executive management, Jo has been the Director Community and Corporate Services at Towong Shire Council since 2013. Prior to local government, her management experience has been gained in the alpine sector and in the private sector in Melbourne media and technology companies.

Jo is also a director of Kiewa Mitta Murray Community Enterprises Ltd, a Bendigo Community Bank franchise company, and is a member of CPA Australia.






Functions of the Board

The functions of the Board, in respect of the alpine resort for which the Board is established under the Alpine Resort (Management) Act 1997 Section 38; are:

  • To act as a Committee of Management of any Crown land deemed to be permanently reserved under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978 in the resort.
  • Contribute, together with Tourism Victoria ... and the Council, to the overall promotion of alpine resorts.
  • To develop a tourism and marketing strategy for, and to promote the resort and to collect and expend voluntary contributions from commercial undertakings in the resort for this purpose.
  • To provide services.
  • To provide transport services in the resort.
  • To collect fees prescribed by the regulations for the resort.
  • To attract investment for the improvement for the resort in respect of which the board is established.
  • To carry out any other function conferred on the Board by or under this or any other Act.

Sub Committees

Audit & Risk Sub Committee

Jo Shannon (Chair), Julia Hunter & Andrew Skewes.

Remuneration & Human Resource Sub Committee

Maxine Morand (Chair), Nicole Feeney & David Anstee.

Marketing & Development Sub Committee

David Anstee (Chair), Julia Hunter & Nicole Feeney.

Consultative Forum

Maxine Morand & Andrew Skewes (co-Chairs), with representatives from the Alpine Shire, Mount Hotham Ski Association (HSA), Mount Hotham Chamber of Commerce, Mount Hotham Skiing Company and Tourism North East (TNE).